Friday Guest Blog: The 3 Laws of Being a Daddy With a Daughter

This week, the Daddy Daughter Time Friday Blog comes from Mike Lichterman – Attorney & Founder of Lichterman Law, and father to one son & one daughter. 

FAM2328

Let me start by saying I’m a lawyer – specifically an estate planning and business planning lawyer. Why did you stop reading? You’ll be happy to know I’m not writing about law, yet law has something to do with it. Stick with me.

I’m also a dad. I have a 6 year old son and a 3.5 year old daughter. There’s a saying that the law is not black and white – it’s shades of gray. Many believe there aren’t irrefutable laws. And maybe that’s true. But while there may not be irrefutable laws “on the books,” I believe there are 3 irrefutable laws of being a daddy with a daughter.

My daughter is my little princess – she has me wrapped around her finger and you know what? I wouldn’t have it any other way! You probably have the same feeling. There’s just something special . . . hard to explain about the bond between daddy and daughter. I love my son just as much and we have a special bond too, but with my daughter it’s different.

Having been privileged to be her dad for the past 3.5 years, I feel there are 3 key laws that I need to live by to be the best daddy I can be to her. I didn’t struggle with “what” the 3 are, but I do struggle with what order they go in. So, please know that these are in no particular order:

1. Always make her boo boos better.
You know what I’m talking about. As with most kids, she hurts her hand, her foot, her head, or other body parts, and she comes to me and says, “daddy, I have a boo boo . . . will you kiss it?” You bet! A simple little kiss and you get the “thank you daddy, it feels better now” that melts your heart.

2. Show her how a gentleman treats a lady . . . by doing it.
Sure, my daughter is only 3.5 years old, but she was never too young to see my love her mom, hug her, open the door, help out around the house, or anything else that a gentleman does. Oh sure, I’m a typical guy and I forget a lot of times, but I can emphatically say that my daughter knows I love her mom. I truly believe this will help her know a true gentleman when she starts dating.

Of course, she’ll be 50 before that happens, so I’m not too worried about it yet ☺. I know there can be certain situations, such as divorce or death, that may not allow for this with “mom.” Just make sure you show her how a gentleman treats a lady somehow. Maybe with relatives or friends (e.g. hold the door open, help them out, etc.).

3. You always have time for a “hugga.”
Ok, so “hugga” is what my daughter calls a hug. Maybe your daughter uses a different term or just good ‘ol hug. No matter what you call it, hugs mean a lot. It’s much like #1 – always make her boo boos better. Anytime my daughter wants a hug, she knows she will get one from me. And even sometimes when she doesn’t. I really don’t know how to explain it, it’s just one of those rules that should always be followed.

What are some of your “laws” of being a daddy with a daughter?

Please share them!

Mike L.

One thought on “Friday Guest Blog: The 3 Laws of Being a Daddy With a Daughter

  1. One “law” I have is to always have a talk after a Time Out rather than just “set her free”. Starting the practice of talking to each other can never start too early. Great blog, Mike. Thanks for being part of DaddyDaughterTime 🙂

Leave a Reply

