Friday Guest Blog: Say ‘Yes To the Dress’…Any Dress, Please!

This week, the Daddy Daughter Time Friday Blog comes from Chris Fleszar – Executive Producer at WZZM 13 and father of four daughters. 

shopping3

When I first started having kids, I decided I wasn’t going to be afraid of picking them up and heading out to… wherever.

I would make a point of trying to do something every day –  usually a trip to a new park, or the beach, or just a walk down main street in my small town.  I had one daughter walking along side of me, one in the stroller, and one in the bucket seat; no big deal!

I used to get comments from older women like, “Oh, you’re so brave” and “My husband never even changed a diaper!”

I was like, “Really? If a woman can do it, why can’t a man?”

Well, fast forward 12 years… to a recent weekend of dress shopping with my 14 year old daughter.

She was looking for something for the 8th grade dance.  As she and I hunted through the racks of 5 stores, (Yes 5!!) my three other daughters (11, 9 and 6), hid in the clothing racks communicating via Hello Kitty walkie-talkies.

As I waited to see if any of the dresses fit, the other three ran around the store. I was able to keep track of them by listening for the beeping walkie-talkies.  After smiling at some of the store employees, I shrugged my shoulders as if to say, “What’s a Dad to do?”

They didn’t smile back.  In fact I saw a few eyes roll and heads shake in disapproval.

I realized I was one of those parents that couldn’t control their kids.  It was at this point I decided I better rein them in a bit.  I quickly rounded them up and corralled them in a nearby seating area.  As I struggled to make them behave, my 14 year old yelled out from the dressing room.  She wanted me to see her dresses, but she didn’t want to come out and show me. She was too embarrassed. (14, remember?)  After going back and forth a little bit, she asked me to come in.

I paused for a moment.  It was the women’s dressing room after all.

But then I decided, “What the hell,” and went in.

Like a horse with blinders on, I moved forward to where she was changing.  I noticed some funny looks, but didn’t think anything of it until I heard a woman exclaim in a high pitched voice, What are men doing in here?” I took this as my cue.

We quickly discussed the blue dress, the white one, the orange one (which I liked), and the multi-colored one. All were rejected for one reason or another.

It was at this point, I decided enough was enough.  Thoroughly exhausted, slightly embarrassed, and feeling defeated, I told my daughter to look in her mom’s closet for something.  This ‘brave’ Dad, who had ‘changed many diapers in his time,’ might have finally met his match.

Chris F.

Leave a Reply

