Grace’s Television Debut

Grace on TV

I’m lucky enough to be friends with some of the local radio and TV personalities in West Michigan but was still surprised to be asked by Valerie Lego from WZZM 13 (ABC  affiliate) to appear on her ‘Healthy You’ show to talk about Daddy Daughter Time.

Being on TV doesn’t make me nervous. I’d done it many times before for other gigs. But when Val asked if Grace could join, I did get a bit anxious.

On the one hand, Grace is what I like to call “terminally cute” as in she can kill you with cuteness. Great for TV, right?

On the other hand, she’s three. And she’d never been to a television studio before. So this interview, with Grace on camera, could go in about one million different ways. (Say ‘Amen’ if you can relate to the incredibly fast changing moods of a toddler).

Jana joined me for back up and to the studio we went…

Grace did not want to be held. She wanted to look around. But due to time constraints, we had to move forward quickly.

Enter the ‘spinny chair’. She loved that. So with Jana riding shotgun behind her to make sure she didn’t spin off, Grace got some quality camera time and even gave a smile and wave.

Here’s the link to the video: WZZM: Daddy Daughter Time Video

Proud daddy!

I learned a few things…

  1. Always remember that if a toddler can see their own reflection, they’ll usually ham it up. (Thank you TV monitors)
  2. I need some practice on delivering Daddy Daughter Time’s message. While, I’m sure I’m my own worst critic, I’d like to have had more “soundbite worthy” things to say.
  3. Wow. I really don’t like seeing my face on HD television. Now I know why I used to wear makeup when being on TV.

Overall, I’m just lucky to have gotten the air time and very much hope that the added exposure will help spread our message.

In the meantime, I’m just beaming with pride at Grace and how adorable she was on TV.

And for those wondering, yes, I did DVR the show and we all watched it together at home. I shot video of that too. Enjoy!

T.

Leave a Reply

