The Pancake Master

(FOR THE RECORD, THIS IS NOT A PICTURE OF MY PANCAKES. I DON'T EVEN WEAR A WATCH. )

(FOR THE RECORD, THIS IS NOT A PICTURE OF MY PANCAKES. I DON’T EVEN WEAR A WATCH. )

I am the Pancake Master.  There can be only one.

So if you’re reading this and think that you are the Pancake Master, I apologize for not letting you down easier.

My credentials are strong.

While I have no professional culinary schooling, I have watched so much Food Network television that my daughter will holler down from her bedroom for me to “Watch Alton Brown!” after I put her to bed.

I’m not making that up.

She wants to make sure I’m watching one of the 98 episodes of Good Eats (yes, 98) I have on my DVR and yells at me from her bedroom.  Someday I’ll get it on tape and send him the audio.  He may find it funny.  He may file a PPO.  It could go either way.

If that doesn’t convince you, I can also flip the flapjacks in the pan not for just one rotation but for two (and sometimes three) and catch them back in the pan.

Still not convinced?

I can make them without mix from a box.

Ahhh.  That got your attention.  Pancakes from scratch?  Go Daddy.

(Admittedly while my pancake mix is homemade, it is also straight from a recipe from Alton Brown.  I really do love that guy’s show.)

Even when I do use Bisquik, I still make the Ultimate Pancake recipe with the vanilla, egg, baking powder, etc.

I take the ‘cakes.  Seriously.

I know exactly how to set the heat and then alter it halfway through to get the perfect golden brown color on both sides.  I make them with fruit, chocolate, nuts, you name it.

And I sometimes make them while simultaneously frying bacon and eggs and brewing coffee.  I’m like a short order cook in my own home.  It gets seriously fun when we’ve got family over.

Jana likes them with fresh cut strawberries and fruity cream cheese in between the cakes.  Grace likes them with whipped cream and cherry pie filling on top.  I’m a classic butter and real maple syrup guy.

Ok…ok…so being a “master” at pancakes isn’t all that hard.  And I’m sure there is plenty of room at the top for numerous Dads to hold the title.  Hopefully all of this smack talk inspires you to raise your game and get in the kitchen.

Cooking for my daughter is one of my favorite things to do.  (She’s found the word “delicioso” and I know I’ve got it right when I hear that.)  If you haven’t done more than pour a bowl of cereal lately, give it a try.

You want to provide for your daughter?  This is the instant gratification version of that.  You cook it.  She eats it (and hopefully likes it).  You get to immediately reap the rewards of your labor.  There is a long list of things you are doing for her from which you won’t see a result for a while (college fund, anyone?).  So this is a quick way to feed both of you – her stomach and your goal to provide.

Now, I’ve just got to introduce her to BFD (Breakfast For Dinner).  I wonder if she’ll like quiche.

T.

Leave a Reply

